exercise week in review

I’ve been reading the book by the people at Runner’s World called “Run less, run faster”. In it they preach 3 runs a week with 2 days of low impact cross training and strength training every once and while. It very much resembles the plan that I am following right now except that the long runs occur at a higher pace. I am not planning to modify my plan at this point save for the addition of a rowing cross training session on Friday’s after work.

On to the week!

It was a good week all-in-all,

I hopped on the stationary cycle on Monday for 17.7 km.

Tuesday I ran 8.4 km which consisted of a 2 km warm-up, then 8 X 400 m at ~5:00 min/km, then a 9th at 4:54 and the 10th at 4:50, followed by a 5 minute cool down, at 1% incline.

Wednesday I enjoyed an hour massage.

Thursday I ran 12.30 km which included a 2 km warm-up then 3 X 3(1.6 km at ~5:30 min/km, 1.6 km at ~5:00 min/km) then 1 minute cool down, at 1% incline.

Friday I rowed for 4.5 km for 25 minutes.

Sunday I ran ~17 km for my LSD, which included a jaunt up Forest Hill road and braving 50 km/h gusts….but oddly I felt really great because my phone conked out after 5 km and I ran the rest by feel, it’s liberating at times to run sans timing!

So a total of 17.7 km cycling, 4.5 km rowing and ~38 km for the week. The great news is that my legs were not tired at all this week.

I hope that you had a great week of training and that this week brings more of the same.

Cheers!

Chris

One foot in front of the other

2 thoughts on “exercise week in review

  1. Just picked up that book last month myself but haven’t looked at in much detail yet. What do you think of it? Hoping to use it to help guide my training for the Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Marathon in October.

    Like

    • It’s good, I’ve been skipping around, sort of grabbing the things I want to look at first, then I will read from front to back. I like the principal and there seems to be substance to the plan. I plan on following it more closely for my fall half-marathon. Right now the only change would be quicker long run paces. Thanks for the question!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

