Do we drink too much water when we exercise? and a review of @SportsFoodINC Electrolyte strips

Some thoughts on electrolytes.

runnersmythos

Winter is here and as always I find myself doing a lot of research for my upcoming running season. Last year I ran into issues with water bloating and stomach upset that I associated to drinking too much.

This logically lead me to further reading on electrolytes and the amount of fluid (and type) to ingest during exercise.  I found that as a new runner I believed I needed to drink as much “water” as I was sweating out (about 1 litre / hour) to stay in a state of optimum hydration. I also believed it was important to drink large quantities of fluid before exercise to make sure that I was properly hydrated.

Humans like most mammals are designed to run in a moderately dehydrated state, we are also designed to re-hydrate when we eat. We cannot store either fluid or salt to any great extent. Over drinking will not only result…

View original post 761 more words

Leave a Reply

